Cinnamon Baked Apple Chips

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 5.50.36 PM

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? I like to believe it. There is nothing better than the first bite out of a perfectly mixed sweet yet sour, juicy Granny Smith apple. These are definitely my go-to snack, and I always have a few in my fridge for when I get a sweet tooth craving and am looking for something to munch on. But, since I eat one basically every day, now they’re getting kind of boring. I would switch to say a Honey Crisp or a Pacific Rose apple, but (as weird as it sounds) I’m too attached to my Granny Smiths. Sooo, I decided to experiment a little with these delicious and colorful wonders.

Here’s what I came up with, and its actually really really delicious! I like to call them “Cinnamon Baked Apple Chips”. Here’s what you do…

  1. Cut the apple into thin slices (however thin you prefer. The thinner the cut, the softer they’ll turn out)
  2. Lay them on a baking pan
  3. Shake cinnamon spice (or I’ve also tried cocoa powder) on top
  4. Drizzle atop a little bit of all natural honey
  5. Stick ‘em in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 365F
  6. Let them cool for about 5 minutes

There you have it! The cinnamon baked apple chips, cooked to perfection (if I do say so myself)! Super sweet, but you also get the slightly sour taste of a classic Granny Smith. It sort of reminds me of a healthy version of Apple Crisp.

Xx,

Tash

One thought on “Cinnamon Baked Apple Chips

Leave a Reply

