DIY Asian Chicken Lettuce Wrap

recipe-lettuce wraps-450x260.ashx

My favorite type of food has always been (and probably always will be) Asian cuisine. I love it so much that I crave the infusion and smell of eastern culture and delicatessens. I used to stick to the sushi menu, and adventure off from there (jk I would get the California roll every time). However, as my palette has expanded, so have my dinner orders. After trying many things on different menus, all of them being i-want-seconds kind of amazing, one dish that always excites me is the chicken lettuce wrap. A rather generic option, it is usually very similar no matter what restaurant you order it from. The peanutty yet soy sauce suffused dish is so yummy, and it’s also so fun to create your own little wraps (it makes it really satisfying when biting into also, lol). Not only that, but it’s definitely a healthier option than the go-to Asian noodles or fried dumplings.

I could not stop craving this dish, and thought that there must be recipes out there for a DIY chicken lettuce wrap as it is such a simple concept. And, yes, yes, I was correct. There are many recipes out there, however many are way more technical than they should be. After lots of hard recipe-book searching, I think I found the most delicious and the easiest recipe out there, for the perfect Asian infused chicken and lettuce wraps.

I know at first glance this recipe looks like way too many ingredients and way too complicated, but I promise it’s actually very simple and quick. Take a look, try it out, and tell me what ya think!

Servings: 8 wraps (About people, depending on hunger levels!)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon dark sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chili sauce
  • 1 teaspoon grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Dash of sea salt
  • 6 oz skinless, boneless chicken breast
  • Cooking spray
  • 8 Boston lettuce leaves (about 1 head)
  • 1 cup fresh mint leaves (about 10 oz)
  • 1/2 cup bean sprouts (about 2 oz)
  • Chopped peanuts

Preparation

  1. Combine first nine ingredients into a bowl as marinade, and whisk
  2. Marinate chicken breast with marinade and add 2 tablespoons of oil in a zip-lock for one hour in the fridge
  3. After one hour, remove chicken breast, and discard the marinade
  4. Heat a large nonstick grill pan over medium-high heat, spray it with cooking spray
  5. Grill chicken for about 12 minutes, or until fully cooked
  6. Cut chicken thinly, and divide between the lettuce leaves
  7. Top each lettuce leaf with 2 tablespoons mint, 1 tablespoon sprouts, and 1 teaspoon of reserved oil mixture
  8. Garnish with chopped peanuts

Personal Tip: I love veggies, so I prefer adding other greens into my wrap (shredded carrot, water chestnut, chopped pepper, and cilantro all work well)

Recipe courtesy of myrecipes.com 

Xx,

Tash

Leave a Reply

