LA Getaway

DSC_0002

Malibu

 

Last week, over my spring break, my family and I (with the exception of my older brother) took a trip to LA. My dad was going out there for work, so my mom, younger brother and I thought we’d tag along for the ride. I had never been to LA, and had always dreamed of strolling down Rodeo Drive and dining at the celebrity hot spots. As you can guess, I was super excited and had a very lengthy list of things to do and places to eat (based on celebrity Instagrams, duh!). We were there for 7 days and 7 nights, and stayed at a hotel in Santa Monica. I won’t go into the trip in too much detail, because I could honestly write a novel about how much I loved every little detail, but I’ll talk about the things and areas that stood out in particular. Also, I’ll mention the really amazing restaurants and cafes that I highly recommend.

I started each morning with a fun workout at Soul Cycle Santa Monica which just happened to be across the street from my hotel. Therefore, I was up bright and early each day before 8am. You might be thinking, no way that’s a relaxing vacation! But I was determined to see as much of LA as I could in the short time that I was there, so there was absolutely no time for sleeping in!

The first day we arrived we headed out to Malibu. And what a great first impression of California! Clear skies, bright blue waters, and swarms of surfers, I loved the city (and state) from the start. We drove around the residential area, dined at Malibu Farm (yum…!), and took a pit stop at Zuma Beach. Later, we headed back to Santa Monica for some delicious Mexican cuisine at Mercado.

On day two or three (I forget- they all kind of jumbled together), we spent the day in our temporary backyard, the Santa Monica Pier. My brother and I decided to let out our inner-child, and rode the roller coaster and the ferris wheel- SO much fun. When we were dizzy enough from all the rides, we left the peer and had another amazing lunch right across from the pier at Ivy at the Shore.

The Wednesday (midway through our trip) was spent window-shopping on Rodeo Drive and awing and ooing at all of the possible items I could never afford. It was so beautiful and the nicest day. After getting a little bit lost and starstruck around the streets in Beverly Hills, I was on a mission to find Urth Cafe (thank you, Kylie Jenner!). We arrived, we waited (yes, very long lines), we ate, and WOW was it amazing. No words to describe it, actually. The next day we went back to the same Urth, and got it as take out, eating it in a beautiful courtyard just off of Rodeo Drive.

IMG_0189

Nobu Malibu

 

To foster the greatest hunger for Nobu Malibu (so we could try all of the artistically crafted delicacies), my mom, brother, and I headed up to Runyon Canyon for the day. We completed a hike on one of the paths (not very long), and I was pretty satisfied as the view from the top consisted of the one and only Hollywood sign (could I be any more of a tourist)! Post fun-celebrity-seeking hike, we headed to Urth for lunch for the third time (I swear, it’s an addiction).

FullSizeRender

To end our trip on a high note, and to truly lose my Los Angeles virginity, the family spent the night at the Staples Center, to cheer on the Lakers! I wouldn’t say I was at the edge of my seat the whole time, but it was still so fun.

IMG_0224

Lakers Game

 

So basically, I don’t think I’ve ever had so much good food in such a short amount of time. Literally, I was never disappointed with anything I ate that whole week. Here are a few of the top places that I’m still craving, days later:

 

Soho House Restaurant

Katsuya (Brentwood)— Brussel Sprout Salad. Enough said

Malibu Farm— Vegetable scrambled eggs and any juice

Nobu Malibu— ANYTHING and EVERYTHING (But isn’t that obvious?!)

Urth Cafe— Went there not once, not twice, but three times. (would go every day for the rest of my life if I could)

Fig Restaurant (in the Fairmont Hotel Santa Monica)

Ivy at the Shore (Santa Monica)

Primo Cafe (Santa Monica)

Mercado (Santa Monica)

Xx,

Tash

One thought on “LA Getaway

Leave a Reply

